Filter by keywords

- clear all filters

Apply pre-defined filters

  • Open of close filterComposer
  • Open of close filterShow more Composer
  • Open of close filterLine-up
  • Open of close filterShow more Line-up
  • Open of close filterSolo line-up
  • Open of close filterShow more Solo line-up
  • Open of close filterEditions
  • Open of close filterShow more Editions
  • Open of close filterArranger
  • Open of close filterShow more Arranger
  • Open of close filterGenre
  • Open of close filterShow more Genre


Buy this item (in stock)

€ 159,00

Listen to an audio fragment

Product ID: HM1 CS-1501
By Sipke Hoekstra

Highland Music
Highland Composers Series
Line Up:
Symphony Orchestra
Level: 4

Set & Score

This item is in stock

About this item

During the period that I was roughly sketching the outlines of what would eventually become the symphonic poem ‘Saga’, I was deeply moved by some anonymous Second World War graves I ran across during a random visit to a random graveyard. The men who had been buried there, died for the freedom of other people, having willingly taken that risk.
They lay there without their names, without their identities. It made me realize very, very clearly that hero´s mainly are hero´s, not by nature or ambition, but by context and necessity. Is this the most tragic and therefore, perhaps, the most pure kind of heroism?
This all inspired me in structuring the piece loosely in parallel with what well could have been a hero’s life: birth, youth, battle, returning home, building up for and fighting the last battle, death, mourning with the memory of the hero being honoured proudly for a while - before that as well slips out of the collective remembrance.
By creating the poem in this specific way, I wanted ‘Saga’ to be a tribute to all persons, female and male, now forgotten, who helped change the world towards being a better place.

Sipke Hoekstra


2 Flutes
2 Oboes
2 Clarinets in B%
2 Bassoons
4 Horns in F
2 Trumpets in B%
2 Trombones
Bass Trombone
Snare Drum
2 Cymbals
Tam Tam

Reviews and rating

No review available, be the first to write one!

Write a review
Click above to view samples

Sipke Hoekstra 1976

Sipke Hoekstra was born in The Netherlands. At age eight, he took up violin playing, at nine he started composing and at eleven he was admitted to a pre-preparatory training of the Groningen Conservatory. After graduating high school, Hoekstra studied Classical Violin and General History (Groningen University) for a while, but would eventually find himself receiving a doctoral degree in Musicology at Utrecht University. He took private lessons in 16th and 17th century counterpoint with the late Dr. Gert Oost and later on studied Composition with the Dutch composer Caroline Ansink. He also initiated practical coaching sessions with the Dutch-Argentine composer Carlos Micháns. Sipke Hoekstra’s works were published in the Netherlands and abroad.
More info about the composer...